Monday, June 15, 2009
Moment in Time
Yesterday I had a small moment in time where I paused and thought to myself, "This [life] is good! God is good!" I wanted to share it. Last evening the kids were both getting cleaned up before bed. When Shawn was done in the tub he stood up and threw his arms out toward me. I lifted him out with the towel wrapped around him and as is his custom he sits down in my lap and snuggles in tight saying, "Brr! Brrr!" As I hugged by little boy, I looked down at the small carpet we were on and saw his still wet little foot print. I was struck for a moment at how awesome it is that this little boy has been entrusted to us to take care of. We are privileged to get to see these wet little foot prints, the wide, bright-eyed smiles, the dimples, the giggles, the noises of brother and sister playing happily in the sunshine on the back porch, watching the kids pick strawberries straight from our garden, laughing when Shawn eats one that is completely green . . . . God has given us these moments! God has given us these children! What a privilege! What an awesome God! If I am smiling at a wet footprint and find joy in that, imagine the amount of joy good feels too. The God who created us allows us to share with Him in this joy.
Friday, June 5, 2009
Longer Than Anticipated Time Out
This evening Shawn decided my shoulder looked like a tasty treat so he decided to take a little nibble. I immediately took him to his room and shut the door. His door fits pretty tight and he hasn't quite got the leverage to open it making it a fantastic place to separate him for a bit. Well, I went to get him out a few moments later and the door would not open. The handle on his door is unlike the others in the house. It doesn't even match in color. It works with a key but there is no key for it. It's a small eyesore; obviously someone got a really cheap deal on a new door knob at some point. So I got Mark and he immediately wanted to kick the door in. I was like, "Oh no. No. Let's just stay calm." So I tried my hardest to coax Shawn in to figuring out how to turn the little lock on the inside. He couldn't reach it well so I told him to push his plastic toy box over to the door. Well, he got hurt doing that and started to cry. But it didn't sound too bad and he recovered quickly. So then I got him to get the pillows off the bed and stack them at the door which he actually did and I proceeded to talk him through the parts of the door handle. Um. . . it didn't work so well. He could not figure out how to turn the little lock piece and I'm not sure he ever even understood what little knob I was talking about. I had just moments before shut his window blinds in preparation for bedtime so we couldn't even go outside and see what he was doing. He started to cry so we got him some snacks and fed him under the door. That helped a lot. Mark got the drill and tried to drill holes through the base of the doorknob. That worked, but the doorknob still wouldn't budge. He tried prying the base of the knob off. That didn't work. He tried pounding a screwdriver through the middle of the knob with a mallet and that didn't work. Every so often Shawn would quietly call, "Hep me! Hep me!" Oh! It was sad. Finally Mark just took the mallet and busted the handel off and we still could not get the lock to budge. In the end guess how the door was opened? We said, "Okay Shawn move away. Go jump in your crib!" and Mark kicked the door in ripping part of the moulding off all the way from the top of the door frame to the floor! This doorknob was ridiculously strong! (I later took it apart and removed it from the door. I'm pretty sure this doorknob was meant to be on the front door of a home . . . not a child's bedroom.) And the first thing I said to Shawn was, "Are you going to bite again?" He said, "No!" immediately.
By the way, we have no idea how the door got locked. We've never found it locked before today. Of course it is our fault that we didn't get it replaced before today, but then if we had already done it, we wouldn't have had any excitement this evening.
By the way, we have no idea how the door got locked. We've never found it locked before today. Of course it is our fault that we didn't get it replaced before today, but then if we had already done it, we wouldn't have had any excitement this evening.
Wednesday, June 3, 2009
Elise's Pre-school Graduation
As I drove Elise to school this morning I realized that I felt much the same way I did when I drove her to school on the very first morning. That morning back in September I was crying and blubbery . . . this time I held it together a bit more. But it was this feeling of sadness mixed with happiness. Elise asked me why I was sad. How do you explain to a kid that you're sad because they're growing up? That could cause some psychological trauma. "Mom liked me better when I was a baby. Hmmm . . . " Well, her graduation ceremony went very well and this time, unlike at their Christmas program, I had a working video camera. Yeah!!
Monday, June 1, 2009
Our Anniversary
We had such a blast celebrating our anniversary. We decided months ago that we would just stay in Salem instead of driving to Portland or somewhere else. Well we made reservations to stay at the ritziest hotel in Salem and the rest of the day was up in the air. We ended up taking a walk downtown and crossed the newly opened pedestrian bridge to West Salem. There's an old train trestle that's been sitting unused for years and finally plans were made to turn it in to a pedestrian bridge. It's great! The weather was beautiful so there were a lot of people out doing the same thing as us and also hanging out by the river down below. When we got to the other side we went to McDonald's and ordered sweet tea. Sweet tea in Oregon! Fantastic! It was only a buck and the thing was huge. What a simple treat. Then we actually went to the mall and went shopping. Mark helped me pick out a new dress. He even held my purse for me while I tried things on and hung out in the women's section near the dressing rooms so I could come out and show him each dress. What a nice guy. He really needed a new baseball cap and we found one 90% off! It says Budweiser on the back. Ha! Ha! You'd have to pay Mark to drink a Budweiser or any other beer for that matter. We went to antique shops downtown, got free slices of bread at Great Harvest and just tootled around. It was a great afternoon. That evening we went to Morton's Bistro for dinner. The food was good. We even tried their special soup of the day . . . a chilled black bean soup. When Mark ordered I had to make sure he heard the waitress correctly. "Did you catch that it's cold hun?" He was so adventurous! Later we met at the ritzy bar in the ritzy hotel for a ritzy "blind date." We tried to stay up late and watch Saturday Night Live but it was Justin Timberlake hosting and some horrible singer so we went to sleep. Oh! I forgot to mention we managed to squeeze eating Ben & Jerry's ice cream in there too! Yum!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
.jpg)